This May Ruin Your New Year’s Resolution

1Image source someecards.com

Well, folks – 2015 has already proven to be a good year. The Girl Scouts of America have really stepped up their cookie-selling game, and the only thing that is not going to benefit is my annual New Year’s resolution diet.

In early December, they announced that America’s beloved baked goods would now be available for purchase online. The Internet erupted in happiness. We no longer have to wait for our bi-weekly trip to the grocery store or stand outside the smelly T station to get an instant cookie fix. Hell, we don’t even have to go outside! Those delicious morsels can now be delivered straight to our door.

Though I’m a big fan of both convenience and not leaving my apartment, I do enjoy seeing those cheerful little girls, standing proud with their badges, waiting patiently for me to approach their carefully arranged table. They smile as I hand them a crisp twenty and walk away, arms full, on my way to the liquor store to purchase an accompanying bottle of vino. It brings joy to my life to know that my sweet tooth and inability to control my eating habits helps those gals get one step closer to earning a badge (or whatever it is they receive). So I’m glad to know that the new Digital Cookie program requires a sale to be initiated by a Girl Scout, meaning they have to send you their personalized page for you to order. What makes me even happier is that we can finally buy cookies with a credit card (because who carries cash anymore?!).

In addition to Digital Cookie, the Scouts are rolling out two new flavors for 2015: Rah-Rah Raisins, an Oatmeal cookie variety with Greek yogurt chips, and Toffee-tastic, a gluten-free option! Meet the newest additions here. The Toffee-tastic is going to be a hot contender in my next cookie line-up. But, like I have always said, Samoas (Caramel deLites) rule all.

We’ve come a long way since the door-to-door selling method – you can now search for locations and dates where cookies are sold in your area, and even download the new Cookie Finder app. So, say goodbye to your diet and that extra holiday cash, and say HE-LLO to boxes of cookies at your doorstep!

Posted by Erin D. 

Leave a Reply

