New Year’s Resolutions: Expectations vs. Reality

1Image source KnowYourMeme.com

The time has finally come to reflect on this glorious year of 2014 and plan on how to make next year even better. The new year gives hope that you can change your bad habits, grow, and become the best version of yourself. While this is all well and good, New Year’s resolutions haven’t always been a thing I’ve stuck to in the past. Can you even remember your resolutions from last year? For me, this is how it usually goes:

Resolution: Get in shape, work out more, be more active… or some variation of this.

Expectation: I’m going to wake up every morning at 5:30 am and go to a Bar Method class before work every single day! And I will love it and be bikini ready by Memorial Day Weekend.

Reality: Sets alarm for 5:30 a.m. Looks outside. Realizes it’s still dark out. Goes back to sleep until 8 a.m. Doesn’t even go to the class after work either.

Resolution: Eat healthy and take the time to cook more in order to truly eat clean.

Expectation: I’m going to buy all my food from Whole Foods, cook healthy on Sundays and do meal prep for the week so I have meals to last me for lunch and dinner.

Reality: Do this one time. Realize its time consuming and expensive. Ends up buying lunch and dinner by the third week in January.

Resolution: Read more books instead of spending time watching reality TV and rom coms.

Expectation: I’m going to read great American classics, biographies and quality literature to broaden my mind.

Reality: Reads a classic novel, then proceed to download books written by The Real Housewives and Amy Poehler onto Kindle.

Resolution: Save money and only spend on things you truly need.

Expectation: I’m just going to buy the necessities. I’m young and need to save! I don’t truly NEED anything frivolous.

Reality: Those boots were just TOO cute and TOO good of a deal to pass up. And who doesn’t need 3 pairs of black boots? Now that I live in Massachusetts I NEED lots of boots for this cold weather. Right?

Resolution: Pick up a new hobby.

Expectation: Find something new and unique you enjoy. Something you can do for the rest of your life.

Reality: Tries to find fun new hobby. Realizes why these things ARE NOT my current hobbies. Decides being myself is good enough for a hobby.

Is it fair to say my resolution this year is to actually KEEP a resolution? Here’s to 2015, a fresh start, and a good year – resolution or not.

Posted by Carli

 

 

Leave a Reply

