Bananas, Potatoes, and Carrots.

image001-1
Image source Inquisitr.com

Q. And what’s your name?

A. Hello, my name is Max and I live with Food Protein Induced Enterocolitis and Dysmotility (aka. I can only eat three foods).

Q. Holy smokes.  Could you help me understand what that is exactly?

A. I have severe reactions to food proteins.  For starters, there’s more letters in the abbreviation (FPIES) than I can literally eat.  One time, my mum fed me milk and I turned blue and I went to the doctors and they gave me a lollipop while they did some tests and I was allergic to that too.  All in all, I ended up being allergic to almost everything edible Planet Earth had to offer.

Q. What’s it like living with FPIES?  Do you have a tough time being normal?

A. Most of the doctors my mum and pops took me to see had not a clue what was wrong with me.  They definitely figured I was an alien.  I felt like an alien.  I was like an alien toddler.  Nobody understood me.   But truth is I’m really normal.  I like to roll around in the dirt and make goofy faces with my sister Halle and I love dinosaurs!  Dinosaurs are my favorite and before that photo was taken my mum had another outfit picked out for me, but I wore the dinosaur shirt instead.

Q. How do other kids at the nursery react?

A. Over at the nursery, I’m not allowed to sit and eat lunch with my friends because it’s way too dangerous.  If I get my hands on the tiniest crumb of something I can’t eat, I go into shock.  I have no clue what’s going on when it happens but it scares my mum and then it scares me, so I do my best not to eat anything other than bananas, potatoes, and carrots.

Q. So, what’s it like over at the nursery? Do they know about your trip to the hospital?

A. Other kids at the nursery are always curious.  I’ve become the fixation.  A few days ago I had to go to the hospital to get a food pump.  I’m not sure what they’re feeding me, but I don’t turn blue when I eat it!  And it fills me up!  I’m kind of nervous though because I have to stay at the hospital for eight weeks and I feel like that’s a really long time.  But If I start feeling better and it helps me than I’ll be so happy!

Q. Do the doctors think you’ll get better?  If not, how will you manage?

A. Some of the doctors think I’ll grow out of my allergies and some don’t.  If I don’t, then I want to spend my first week home finding banana, potato and carrot recipes online.  But if I do, then the first thing I’m going to try is mac n’ cheese.

Q. Good idea.  Anything else you’d like to add Max?

A. Um. My sister really wants to play tag, so can I think about it.

Posted by Max

Leave a Reply

