Is ‘Fast Fashion’ All Tuckered Out?

11

Image source WSJ

Like any good PR pro, I love reading the papers in the morning. I especially love when I find bits and bobs of copy or, in this case, a full-blown, cover page article that reaffirms something I already believe in. As a lady who doesn’t love shopping, the Thursday Style sections usually bum me out. I generally make it out the door without looking like a mess, but truth be told, I wear dresses because they’re easy (think about it, guys – one piece and you’re done!) and tend to procrastinate when it comes to jumping on the trend bandwagon – I mean, I meant to buy white jeans all summer and now Labor Day has come and gone.

Shopping is a chore and chores are a drag. My internal dialog tends to look something like this:

Super Organized Aspirational Self:  Okay. So white jeans are over. You missed out and that’s sad, but there’s a silver lining here! Buy them now for a sweet deal, and tuck them away for next year. A) You’ll save money. B) You could probably convince other people that you put off buying these guys on purpose. Double points!!

Actual Self: I hear you, but isn’t there something kinda sorta silly about spending money on white jeans for next July when my need for shoes I can wear when the temp dips below 65 is now?

Super Organized Aspirational Self: You were supposed to buy two pairs of classic black flats last spring. When they were on sale.

Actual Self (swallows, stairs down at sandals purchased not-on-sale last spring): About that….

When it comes right down to it, shopping is work. It doesn’t matter whether I’m buying a new top or a box of tampons, heading into a store means running errands. True, the average 13-year-old girl will tell you that cruising around the mall is a joy, but lest we forget, the average 14-year-old girl does not have access to alcohol.

600-01275542
Image source LynnCowell.com

I repeat, the young women above cannot attend happy hour. What else could explain those looks of content?

Recently, a style piece in the WSJ Personal Journal section suggested that it’s trendy to actually BUY LESS!!! I was so happy, I almost cried. Touted as “the minimalist closet” this new movement caters to women who got burned out by all the fast fashion of recent years (‘errbody putcha hands up! ). This sort of shopping is a foil to the “see it, want it, buy it” habits encouraged by fast fashion chains like H&M and Zara; instead, it encourages buyers to be discerning, methodical, and thoughtful.

The end result of all this discerning, methodical thought? You end up with a closest that has fewer $12 tops and more quality, curated pieces. Plus, buying less overall means you’ll probably also have some money left in the ol’ wardrobe budget to pick up some basics for next year’s season on sale. Boom. Now I’m trendy, thrifty, and organized.

Posted by Erin K.

Leave a Reply

