This Ain’t No Porkie

Every tourist knows that you never truly feel like a traveling insider until you have mastered a region’s slang. It proves that you know the ins-and-outs of the local tongue while those on the “outside” have nothing to show for themselves but a blank stare. A classic giveaway of their non-native status. I was confused as hell on my first day of elementary school when I was directed to the “bubblah” after asking for a drink of water. In Pennsylvania, they are called water fountains. As they should be.

This being said, nothing fascinates me more than English rhyming slang. Ever since I got my first 30 second lesson while watching Green Street Hooligans (still just as confused as ever) I was determined to master this tricky word switch.

As it’s so aptly named, rhyming slang involves replacing words with their rhyming counterparts, regardless of whether or not they make any logical sense. To help you blend in on your next trip to London, here are a few key terms to help you mingle with the locals rather than looking like these poor sods. *Sigh

kImage Source iVillage

Adam and Eve = believe. Ex: Can you Adam and Eve it?!

Cream Crackered = knackered. Ex: After last night, I’m totally cream crackered.

Pork pies = lies. Ex: Stop telling such nasty porkies!

Loaf of bread = head. Ex: Come on now, use your loaf!

Whistle and flute = suit. Ex: I gotta buy a new whistle for the wedding, mate.

Sherbert Dab (what?!) = cab. Ex: I’m not riding the Tube tonight, I’ll take a Sherbert.

Read up on your rhyming slang on (the always factual) Wikipedia before you board your next flight or read through Conde Nast’s helpful list of slang from around the world.

Looking for a way to impress at your next party or company gathering, work this little beauty into the conversation and you’ll be on your way to colloquial greatness: “It nearly knocked me off my plates – he was wearing a syrup! So, I ran up the apples, got straight on the dog to me trouble and said ‘I couldn’t believe me mincers!’” (Make *BOOM* hand gesture and walk away smiling).

Posted by Amy

Leave a Reply

