Not Your Average Lullaby

Kids are weird. Anyone who knows me knows just how uncomfortable I am around babies. They’re awkward. I’m awkward. I honestly just don’t understand the little humans and have never had a desire to have one myself. My mom used to always say, “Just wait until you are in your twenties, Christina, you’ll get that nurture gene and you’ll begin to love babies!” Well here I am- 23 years old, and still don’t get all warm and fuzzy around children. When I think of children, this is what I see:

aae186cb7fc930f4d1f5d90f24d0bc62019c9a19d0d815d2c957b45dc84afa4d
Image source QuickMeme.com

31767befe6f042432bfadfa7d7c9301e
Image source iVillage.com

Last week a friend brought to my attention this hilarious video of a little kid who loses her s#!@ when she hears Katy Perry’s Dark Horse and I found myself actually feeling a little bubbly inside (Mom, if you’re reading this, don’t get ahead of yourself, there are still no grandkids coming in the near future) but I will say this little girl cracks me up!

The video opens with tears and moans from a little chubber, and my first thought is, “yup, this is why I’ll never have one of those”, but then…wait for it…Katy Perry starts playing and bam! this lil’ munchkin is happy as can be. See for yourself:

So if (that’s a big “if”, Mom) I ever decide to have one of my own, I hope that I can nail a parenting trick as amazing as this one. And p.s. a big shout out to Katy Perry for bringing one less tear to the world. Who knew a girl who makes it acceptable to wear cupcakes as a bra could make such a difference?!

Posted by Christina

One response to “Not Your Average Lullaby

  1. The trick is to raise your kids to be someone that you would want to hang out with. Don’t expose them to any music, food, books, etc. that you can’t stand just because its “for kids”. When my older son was little he loved Andrew WK. My little one is a huge Katy Perry fan.
    Another things I would say is that I have two children and I don’t particularly like babies either. Which I think is a good thing, because I don’t have babies anymore. I have gotten through the cascades of poop and screaming and come out on the other side with two ridiculously funny, smart, and charming sons who I love to talk to.
    I think people who love the baby phase are often disappointed when their kids get a little older, and are less cute and controllable.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Keep writing.

Leave a Reply

