Did a Derek Jeter Commercial Really Just Make Me Cry?

Yankees \ yan-kees\ noun
the evil empire, overpaid crybabies, the bane of a Red Sox fan’s existence

I grew up liking two baseball teams: the Red Sox and everyone who beat the Yankees. I also grew up in the middle of Connecticut, right smack dab on the dividing line between Yankee territory and Red Sox nation. From an early age, I learned that I would have to encounter Yankee fans every day, (which just so happened to be in the time period that those damn Yankees were winning what seemed like every World Series), only to further instill my distaste for the guys in pinstripes.

And then there was Derek Jeter, the player that graced the back of every jersey worn by my boy classmates and whose photo adorned the girls’ folders. As much as I’ve always hated the Yankees, I’d be delusional to not realize he’s a hell of a player. Still, I never swooned over #2 or felt any overwhelming emotion toward him, until now.

Now in his final season, Derek Jeter is the star of a new star-studded commercial called “RE2PECT” that’s been taking the Internet by storm.

Not going to lie, after my first watch, I had goose bumps and a tear in my eye (very confusing for a Sox fan). As much as I hate to admit it, I get “IT”. I get what Derek Jeter’s done for the game. But at the same time, the fact that the guy from the team I hate just made me cry means I should probably reevaluate my life. Respect to #2, but now let’s forget about it.

Go Sox!

Posted by Tracy

 

Leave a Reply

