Beyonce’s Beats Can Save a Life

The last time I took a CPR class was when I was 17 years old and living the dream as a summer camp counselor. While I recognize that CPR is such a valuable skill to have, safe to say I wouldn’t be able to remember the techniques if my own life depended on it.

Need a refresher, too? The basics are: call for help, place the heel of one hand in the center of the victim’s chest, then place your other hand on top and pump away (should be at a speed of 100 beats per minute) until the professionals come. This may seem like a heavy post, but stay with me…

In honor of CPR Awareness Week (yes, there is such a thing and it was the first week of June), the American Heart Association put together a little Spotify playlist (search “CPR Awareness Week 10 Beats Playlist”) of songs that match the beat for proper administration of CPR so that you can either listen to, or at least play a song in your head (you know, because cuing the music is probably the first thing you think of when in this situation!) while trying to save a life. This list of beats to remember includes Beyonce’s “Crazy in Love,” Al Green’s “Love and Happiness,” Mase’s “Breath, Stretch, Shake,” Gloriana’s “Wild at Heart” and even Lil Jon makes a debut with “Turn Down for What.”

Who knew that the AHA was so cool!? What I do know is that this playlist is now on my phone – and while hopefully my CPR skills won’t ever be needed, at least it can put some pep in my step on the walk to work.

3

 

Posted by Laura

Leave a Reply

