Song of the Summer via Sia

I’m not proud to say it, but I don’t have a passion for music like most. During my hour-long trek to work every morning, I don’t listen to anything but the sounds of birds chirping and passing traffic. Sometimes I forget my headphones at the gym and I run in silence.

I know – I’m kind of a weirdo.

However, every once in a blue moon, I find a rare exception and get completely addicted to a song. Like a can’t stop, won’t stop, 10 repeats in a row isn’t even enough, kind of love. Examples: Outcast’s “Roses” (11 years later and it’s still lodged in my brain), Miley Cyrus’ “Wrecking Ball” (you’re lying if you claim to disagree), Robyn’s “Dancing on My Own” (duh), Mark Ronson and Amy Winehouse’s “Valerie” (never gets old) and a select few other timeless tunes.

Thanks to Sia, the songstress behind David Guetta’s “Titanium,” the latest exception to my typically song-less existence is “Chandelier.” Paired with a viral music video, the song of the summer (you heard it here first) chronicles a recently heartbroken “party girl” who opts to sling back drinks and swing from the chandeliers as an unconventional cure for her lost love.

The real kicker is a music video featuring 11 year old Maddie Ziegler of Dance Moms fame as a preteen crazy person with half Exorcist/half Nutcracker/wholly amazing dance moves. Try to watch it just once. I dare you.

Thanks for starting my summer on a high note (pun intended), Sia!

 

 

Leave a Reply

