How Well Do You Know Basic U.S. Geography?

Ah yes, another incredibly relatable Buzzfeed quiz. I’ve spent an embarrassing amount of time learning useless things about myself like “How much of a Britney Spears fan are you?” (BIG), “What item of furniture are you?” (a bed, duh), and “Should your cat run for president?” (absolutely).

But unlike the rest of the pop culture and hypothetical quizzes that I’m not ashamed of failing or getting strange answers for, this one is slightly more eye opening…

How well do you know basic U.S. geography?

map-of-united-states
Image source YourChildLearns.com

Geography has never been one of my strong suits, I’m one of those good at reading and writing, terrible at math and science kind of girls. And yes, I count geography as part of that “math and science” group. I can’t read a map to save my life, and I also cannot identify states on a map. I CAN, however, sing the states in alphabetical order! – though I’m not sure when that will ever come in handy.

After taking this quiz and getting a horrifyingly low answer, I polled some of my colleagues to make sure we were all on the same page. The results are in: no one who took it got 50% or above. Fingers crossed we never have a map client at mm/c.

Below are the results, I’ve concealed the subjects identities to ensure we keep our jobs…

Subject A: 7/16

Subject B: 5/16

Subject C: 4/16

Subject D: 7/16

Subject E: 5/16

Thank goodness I never competed on Are You Smarter Than a 5th Grader? Because the answer is no.

Posted by Nina

Leave a Reply

