What’s in a Name: Fad or Forever?

ffImage source Hdwallpaperclub.com

I have always been fascinated with names and, specifically, how my name was given to me. I’ve been told that my mother contemplated many options, but they were all shot down by my family. Kendall reminded my grandfather of the oil company, Heather rhymed with feather, Hannah rhymed with Banana, and so on and so on… So mom landed on Chelsea after coming across it in a baby book. Unbeknownst to her, I would later become best friends with someone with the same moniker. And even though I am on the verge of becoming a single, dog lady, I already have my children’s names picked out. Don’t bother asking… I’d tell you, but then I’d have to kill you.

Recently it seems that babies and their names are constantly making the news. From Blue Ivy, North West to good old chap Prince George.  It’s pretty true that, for the most part, celebrity babies names are insane! North West? Really, Kim K, really?

But what is the future for these weird names? In his blog, Wait But WhyTim Urban explored how people chose their baby’s names and the trends of names since the 1880’s. Sadly, Urban pointed out that in 30 years my name will sound like the Nancy, Susan and Lindas of today. At only 22, it seems bizarre that I will one day have a mom name.

At the end of the day, names are really just fads. I can’t even begin to count how many Ashley, Jessica and Sarahs I know…who are slowly being replaced today by Isabella, Olivia and Emma. I mean at some point in history everyone was naming their daughter’s Myrtle or Gertrude! Shout out to all the grandma’s out there…but I am happy that fad has passed!

Want to learn the history of your name? Find out here

Posted by Chelsea

Leave a Reply

