1990 vs. 2013

 titlecard12-ytv-friends-careers-aniston-jpg_003350Image source Yahoo!

I don’t know if I’m embarrassed or proud of the fact that my DVR library holds dozens of re-runs of shows like “Boy Meets World,” “Will & Grace” and “90210.” While there may be certain modern-day shows that warrant space in my DVR (if I don’t find out how Ted meets his kids’ mother soon, I will give up), at the end of the day, my bread and butter has always been the 90s sitcoms. I have zero interest in things like “Game of Thrones” or anything that involves walking zombies, terrorism, or Facebook…instead, give me something that reminds me of my favorite decade and has me laughing out loud and wishing I was wearing a velvet baby doll dress and combat boots and chatting with my friends on an actual landline phone.

To me, flashback shows like “Seinfeld,” “Friends,” and “90210” – the original, not that CW garbage – bring me back to a culture that I loved. Maybe it’s a perpetual case of “the grass is always greener on the other side” or perhaps I’m starting my middle age crisis 25 years early. I also kind of wish I could wear a baggy suit and tennis shoes to work and know that people would find it attractive. Whatever this delusion may be – I love things like this article on BuzzFeed with the 33 Best Forgotten Teen Shows of the 90s. Granted, I myself forget a lot of these, but I thoroughly enjoyed the reminders and the crazy realization that Beyonce and Britney guest starred on The Famous Jet Jackson (?!?). I wonder how little it cost for those cameos…

I think it also goes without saying that I am incredibly pumped for the “Boy Meets World” spin-off, “Girl Meets World,” and may need to have a viewing party if anyone would like to join. So move over “Honey Boo-Boo” and other modern-day crap…seems like the 90s are having a comeback.

Posted by Amanda

Leave a Reply

