I Scream for Alternative Ice Cream

jenna1Image source fanpop.com

It’s been really really %$#*&^* hot. And what’s better on a 100% humidity day like we’ve had of late? Two ginormous refreshing and creamy scoops of made-in-America ice cream. Well not for me! I have had to give up this sweet nectar of the gods after recently being made aware that I am allergic to dairy. My reaction – somewhat overdramatically undergoing the 5 stages of grief and loss in my white paper gown. My doctor, in his smug lactose tolerant little voice, suggested that I simply find an ice cream alternative. ALTERNATIVE?!  I mean, anything can be described as an alternative to ice cream – an apple, a pedicure, a punch in the face… needless to say I left in an inconsolable state. No more Captain Dusty’s at Singing Beach!?  What will I tell my first-name-basis barista at Pinkberry (I’m so sorry Karen)? What do you mean everything from chewing gum to chips to protein bars has dairy?

And then, one blazing hot day a few weeks ago, whilst sullenly skulking down Centre St. in Jamaica Plain, something amazing happened…FoMu. And there it was on the sign, as if it had been destined for me: “Alternative Ice Cream.”

jenna2Image source FoMu’s Facebook

jenna3

Image source tasteBU.com

With over 21 rotating dairy free flavors made daily from coconut and almond milk, my prayers had been answered! The small batch, all natural creative concoctions are dare I say it, as good as the real thing. The barista, amused by pilgrimage-esque prostrations, mentioned that it isn’t too hard to make in the comfort of your own home. I was in such a euphoric and sugar-shock (I tried every flavor, #noshame) induced state upon returning home I bought a quart of coconut milk, cocoa powder and my very own teal Cuisinart ice cream maker to cry tears of joy into. Ah, the possibilities!

Posted by Jenna

One response to “I Scream for Alternative Ice Cream

  1. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as
    well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you
    modify it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent
    quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays.

Leave a Reply

