We’re Gonna Need a Bigger Boat

amandaThe media was all a flutter with several recent shark sightings along the coast of Cape Cod. I don’t have any upcoming plans to visit the Cape (but invites are welcome…), and if I do, I would likely only go into the water up to my knees, but this still freaks me out. I can barely doggy-paddle, let alone handle the idea of escaping a great white shark. Just hearing the theme song of “Jaws” makes me cringe. If you assume, like me, that most people would react the same way – you would be wrong.

“Good Morning America” told the story of a guy on Nantucket who “wrestles sharks” as a hobby. A hobby? Knitting is a hobby. Gardening is a hobby. Wrestling sharks is just asking for it.

He’s caught over 100 sharks in the last eight months by charging the waves, grabbing the shark’s tail and pulling the poor guy to shore. And while most fishermen throw back the small ones, he always lets the sharks go, likely to swim away with his or her tail down in shame.

The best part? He got a slow clap from spectators as he walked away. Take a look at the clip to see this brave guy’s casual fun activity – anyone up for a new hobby? I think I’ll stay pool side, myself.

Posted by Amanda

Image source hdwallpapers.in

Leave a Reply

