The Best Band Reunion Since Zeppelin

Have mercy! If you haven’t heard, last Friday marked the most anticipated reunion in fictional television band history – Jesse and the Rippers, Jesse Katsopolis’ band from 90’s sitcom favorite “Full House” –  appeared together on “Late Night with Jimmy Fallon.” If you grew up in the 90’s and aren’t sure what I’m talking about, this may spark a memory:

Yeeeeahhhh.

My number one celebrity man crush has always been and will always be John Stamos. And if I’m young enough to make that creepy, I don’t care. He is just perfection. No one can pull off a low-cut Indian-inspired blouse or shirtless overalls quite like Mr. Katsopolis.

The Twitter account @jesseandtheripps tweeted this, along with a photo of Jesse in a leather vest, after the news of the reunion was released:

erin1

John Stamos himself also tweeted an Instagram video of himself singing the theme song to “Full House.”

erin2

Alright, I know you’re dying to see the performance.

In celebration of fake television bands, here are a few of my old (and newer) faves:

The Beets

Did anyone actually know what “Killer Tofu” was about? I certainly didn’t – but that doesn’t mean it’s not one of the most memorable fake songs of the 90’s. If Jimmy Fallon can somehow get The Beets holographically embedded onto the stage for a reunion performance of “I Need Mo’ Allowance,” that would be impressive. Because “I need mo’ allowance. Why? Because I do!”

Zack Attack

Zack Morris was another 90’s television hottie. In one episode, Zack dreams about the band reuniting for a concert featuring “Friends Forever.” Swoon. Also, Mark Paul Gosselaar (that’s Zack’s real name) appeared on Jimmy Fallon as Zack Morris in 2009.

2gether (2ge+her)

How would we have ever learned our calculus without 2gether’s “U + Me=Us”? I actually thought 2gether was a real band for a while, but apparently they are spoofing boy bands? I don’t know.. their music seems pretty legit to me. They taught us all to “Say it- don’t spray it. I want the news, not the weather.”

I’d also like to give a shout out to a couple of my fave more recent fictional bands – Mouse Rat of “Parks and Recreation” and Scrantonicity of “The Office.”

Sound off loyal m.blog readers: what’s your favorite fake band?

Posted by Erin

Leave a Reply

