Why So Serious?

mirandaA couple of months ago I noticed this video making rounds on the interwebs, and I couldn’t help but think; thank the Lord I am not the only one afflicted with this unfortunate and incurable condition, Bitchy Resting Face.

I have always been complimented for my positive attitude (thank you years in customer service and the Junior League) but for some reason if I am not feeling any particular way, my face sends out a noticeable “f you” vibe. This semi-permanent sad, angry, constipated look is actually causing strangers to think I am a rude crone. How do I know this? More often recently on my 2+ hours commute, people have commented on my bitch face.

Here’s a question for the masses: why are women expected to smile all the time? Apparently because it’s is an extension of our femininity and sexual identification. And don’t worry if you do suffer from Bitchy Resting Face, your friendly neighborhood plastic surgeon can perform a “grin lift.” Awesome.

A couple of quick reasons I am embracing my BRF:

  • It would be more disturbing if I smiled like Pennywise the clown all day
  • If I am not happy, I am not going to smile – think of it as false advertising (like a Wonderbra or Botox)

So I join the ranks of Anna Paquin, Grumpy Cat and Kristen Stewart. I am a genuinely happy person but I deserve to dictate my own emotions and facial expressions, so don’t be so judgy!

Posted by Miranda

Leave a Reply

