Moving on Up, to the East Side

As a kid, I’d sneak into the living room when my parents were watching shows like “Friends” and “Seinfeld,” quickly developing my obsession for all things 90s and TV sitcom related, as well as my dream of one day living in a giant, swanky New York City apartment with my best friends – aka living it up and lounging in coffee houses all day long. My dad would inevitably burst my bubble and remind me that no 25 year-old with a waitress’ salary (or apparently an entry-level PR salary) could ever in a million years afford such a desired bachelorette pad.

Fast forward 20 years, and sure enough, I had my NYC apartment, BFF roomies and an unlimited subway pass to explore the city… unfortunately, it also came with a bedroom the size of a closet, 6 flights of stairs, and a (friendly) mouse that we named Marshall, who did not appreciate – nor fall for – our humane mouse traps. In fact, I think he still lives there.

Of course if I could go back, I wouldn’t change a thing, and I wish I could freeze frame that stage of life. That is, unless I could get Carrie Bradshaw’s closet. A recent blog post that was circulating the web outlines what the apartment floor plans of popular TV characters would look like in real life. Considering I’ve probably seen every episode of the shows on here, I’m surprised I’m not more delusional about apartment living than I actually am. Maybe if I get a roommate like Chandler, he can help bankroll my lifestyle. Joey was clearly smarter than we all thought…

amanda1

amanda2

amanda3

amanda4

amanda5

amanda6

amanda7

amanda8

Posted by Amanda

Image source nikneuk.deviantart.com

Leave a Reply

