12 Years, Six Movies, One Summer Blockbuster

The first Fast and Furious movie came out in 2001, 12 years ago. I remember going to see it in the theater with my best friend when I was 11. The second Brian O’Connor hit the silver screen in that race car, I was hooked. Which means for more than half my life I’ve been addicted to the Fast and Furious franchise. Not sorry.

quinn1Image source Collider.com

I was never into NASCAR (despite being raised in North Carolina) and my knowledge about the racing world is limited to sail boats, but for some reason I can’t get enough of these movies. The cast is amazing, the stunts they do are crazy, the heists they pull off are wild and the driving is bananas exciting. There’s something to be said for a man that really knows how to drive, then again, even if Paul Walker had the driving record of Lindsey Lohan, I think I’d still be smitten. I mean, have you seen those blue eyes?

quinn2
Image source Deadline.com

The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift was the only one I never got into. It’s the odd man out of the franchise. It doesn’t tie in anything to the previous movies. Paul Walker isn’t even in it. Skip.

The other films have the high adrenaline, cars and Brian O’Connor that I expect out of these movies. My favorite so far was Fast Five. The film unites all of the characters throughout the movies to make for some hilarious cast dynamics and badass stunts. The heist they pull off is the biggest of the series and I can’t wait to see the newest one. Fast 6 is supposed to be the biggest and baddest film of the franchise.

From the looks of the trailer, I’m going to have to agree. The movie is also rumored to have the biggest girl fight since Uma Thurman rocked the house in Kill Bill.

Needless to say the movie’s trailer was my favorite Super Bowl commercial this year. I’ve been talking about the movie for months. Unfortunately, I still haven’t seen it yet because my brother was getting married – and I kind of had to be there. I asked him and his bride to reschedule, but apparently they schedule these things like a year in advance. Who knew?

Think I’ll go tomorrow after work, anybody care to join me and Mr. Walker’s beautiful blue eyes?

Posted by Quinn

Leave a Reply

