Catch Me Some Lucky Charms (And Don’t Tell Mom…)

amandaAs a kid, I’d often lie to my mom when she opened the box of Lucky Charms (a rare appearance in our house) and asked me point blank if I had picked out all of the marshmallows. I would vehemently deny it… when in actuality, I woke up at 6:00am to crack open the fresh box of sugary goodness to be the first to get my hands on the neon colored rainbows and pots of gold while I watched my cartoons. Somehow I thought she wouldn’t notice the resulting 1:100 ratio of marshmallow to colorless cereal piece.

As a now sensible adult, I can’t remember the last time I bought a box of Lucky Charms. But when I came across this article on Bon Appetit, I immediately knew what I was making for the dessert that would follow our holiday dinner of Shepherd’s pie.  I felt like that little girl again…scrolling through the pics of rice crispy treats, cakes, ice cream, and puddings. Even the Lucky Charms Martini was tempting…had I actually found a suitable replacement for my annual pint of Guinness?!

Needless to say, there was a sugar/alcohol combo hangover yesterday that had us cursing the leprechaun and debating his charm, but I’d recommend these recipes to anyone looking to keep the St. Patty’s Day spirit alive any time of year!

Posted by Amanda

Image source Bon Appetit

 

Leave a Reply

