No Girl Scout Cookies for Honey Boo Boo

allieImage source TMZ

Recently I bought two boxes of Girl Scout cookies, Thin Mints and Samoas (the best types, obviously) from the troop in the Kenmore Square T station. The 11-year-olds and mothers were so grateful for my purchase, which made me feel a lot better about the fact that I bought two boxes of cookies for myself that will probably be gone in about a week. It wasn’t until I got home and logged onto my fave gossip site that I learned of the drama surrounding this year’s sales: According to TMZ, Boo Boo has been banned from selling cookies by the Girl Scouts of the USA because she used Facebook to sell hundreds of boxes for a friend of hers. Apparently online sales are not part of the job description.

Now, I’ve never been a fan of Boo Boo. I try to avoid shows revolving around diva children as much as possible and opt for Dance Moms and Say Yes to the Dress. So I’m not surprised that the 7-year-old made it into the FoxNews.com headline, “Thin Mint Mess: Honey Boo Boo banned from selling Girl Scout cookies.” While I admire her savvy social media skills and effort to support her friend’s Girl Scout troop, she is pretty much cheating the system. Girl Scout cookie selling is supposed to teach young girls how to handle money, communicate with customers and develop a strong work ethic. Meanwhile, typical Boo Boo is flaunting photographs of her stacks of sold cookie boxes all over social media – no wonder the Girl Scouts are pissed.

I guess it’s safe to say there won’t be a Girl Scout badge for social media prowess anytime in the near future!

Posted by Allie

Leave a Reply

