Remembering Four Loko: Two Years Later

14212_511032035587165_626758964_nImage source Four Loko Facebook

It’s been two years and I’m still mourning a difficult loss – Four Loko. The alcoholic beverage with a caffeine jolt that captured the hearts (and livers) of college youth everywhere. Then came the shutdown. The replacement cans and formula looked and seemed to taste the same, but the new Four Loko lacked caffeinated ingredients that had once made it meaningful… and different.

When I heard in the fall of 2010 that key ingredients would be removed due to health hazards, I was scared of what might become of my beloved drink. As I had decided to study abroad in the spring of 2011, I did what any devoted fan would do and bought two flats to tuck away in my storage unit for when I returned to America.

In June of 2011, when I returned to Milwaukee, I ran to my storage unit and hugged my beloved bevvies. I was going to have such an amazing summer! But like everything, all good things must come to an end, and I vividly remember the moment I drank the last sip from the very last can. I still break out my “Legalize Loko” shirt every once in a while, but I know it’s not coming back. The Facebook page is what really helps me cope. True Loko lovers unite on the fan page to support the beverage and lobby for its return.

Judge me all you want, but it really meant something to me. That first sip, the moment it hit my lips, was unlike any other drink experience I’d ever encountered. And it was always fun drinking with a select and exclusive set of friends (you know who you are), who knew what kind of night it was going to be and how to “Loko.”

Yes there have been other greats since then (see: Alcoholic Whipped Cream), but nothing can compare to my one true love. They couldn’t even entice me with their new flavors that launched this past summer. I still occasionally think of my beloved beverage, and its memory will linger in my heart forever. RIP Four Loko. Santa – if you really do exist – would you please bring me some original “Four Lokos” down the chimney this year?!

Posted by Carolyn

Leave a Reply

