Goodbye Snoop Dogg, Hello Snoop…Lion? Really?!

Image source Metro Boston

Its Fo-shizzle my Nizzle…sorry, it had to be said. Apparently, Snoop traveled to Jamaica a Dogg and returned as a …Lion? Yep, after undergoing what he says to have been a spiritual and artistic rebirth, Snoop has renamed himself. As he explains it, “. . . I went to [a] temple, where the High Priest asked me what my name was, and I said, ‘Snoop Dogg.’ And he looked me in my eyes and said, ‘No more. You are the light; you are the lion.’ From that moment on, it’s like I had started to understand why I was there.” The days of hits like Drop It Like It’s Hot, Nuthin’ But a G Thang, and Gin and Juice are over. Without further ado, here comes Snoop Lion roaring into the reggae world…pun SO intended!

The result of this “reincarnation” was a three-part project: reggae album (not so coincidentally entitled Reincarnated), a documentary, and a coffee-table photo book all under the name Snoop Lion. Apparently, Snoop Dogg…er, Lion, has always felt a strong connection to the music genre, reporting at a news conference, “I have always said I was Bob Marley reincarnated. I have always been a Rastafari.” Really Snoop? Have you actually always said that? And even though his album isn’t set to drop until next year, Snoop Lion and his band, the Jungle (you can’t make this shit up), have already released a single, Lalala. Thoughts? Kind of hard to take it seriously with a name like Snoop Lion, right?

Only time will tell where Snoop Lion will end up, but until then the Boston Metro kindly reminds us that Snoop isn’t the only artist who has had an existential moment. No sir, artist self “rebranding” has been a trend long before this Lion was king of his jungle.

Posted by Stephanie

Leave a Reply

