Pickles with Spice and Everything Nice

Image source Wine and Food Travel

Rarely do I profess my love for particular foods. Aside from my embarrassing fixation with donuts and affinity for green tea (typically to offset the donuts), my food cravings are pretty limited. But my recently ended college years opened my eyes to a whole new genre of drool-worthy delicacies: pickles.

If pickles were what Nathan’s Hot Dogs are to the competitive eating world, I think I’d be a strong contender against Takeru Kobayashi.

So at a small food brand sampling (aka heaven) in my home town of Beverly, you won’t be surprised to hear that Maintland Mountain Farm’s famous Holly’s Spicy Pickles were at the top of my must-try list. I braved the crowds to find those babies and boy was it worth it.

The Salem-made munchies are marinated in a crave-inducing blend of jalapeño, garlic, ginger and red chili flakes, and they pack just enough hot peppery punch to make you reach for another, but keep you from finishing the entire jar in one sitting (at about $8.00 a pop, these jars aren’t as dispensable as the Vlasics I devoured in my college dorm). And according to North Shore magazine, their most noteworthy purpose across the region is as spicy additions to dirty martinis and Bloody Marys. Too brilliant.

Hmmm…donuts, green tea and pickles.  Your guess is as good as mine!

Posted by Mary

Leave a Reply

