The Oracle of Kevin Bacon

Image source Max De Marzi

I’m sure you’ve all heard of the “Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon,” which tests the idea that every actor in Hollywood can be linked back to Mr. Bacon, but have you heard of or used The Oracle of Bacon? Ok, I’ll be honest, it’s not mind-blowing, but when you have a few minutes to kill, it sure does pass the time.

For those of you, who like me, aren’t huge movie buffs, this is the perfect way to test your actor knowledge and see just how small the world (you know, world as in Hollywood) is these days. Here’s how it works:

  1. Enter in your favorite actor or actress (I tested everyone from James Van Der Beek to Kate Hudson).
  2. Click “Find Link” and instantaneously see how that person is connected to Kevin Bacon.

The site even goes as far as to say that almost everyone that you can think of to search will be a Bacon number of four or below (meaning they’re only four degrees of separation aka people away from Kevin Bacon).

After seeing just how many no name and big name actors and actresses are connected to Kevin Bacon, all I have to say is:  damn it’s good to be Kevin. Heck, I want my own website that lets me see how someone is connected to me, my friends and acquaintances.

Hey, Facebook, new idea?

Posted by Alyssa

One response to “The Oracle of Kevin Bacon

  1. Samsung is kind of doing this with the “How Olympic are You” Genome project
    https://www.facebook.com/samsunggenomeproject

Leave a Reply

