Poppin’ Bubbly for a Slimmer Bod

To me the holidays are about spending time with family and friends and washing down generous plates of seasonal food and dessert with ample glasses of wine—without a trace of guilt. When else do you have an excuse to eat like a glutton from daybreak to nightfall with no remorse? Unless you’re a competitive eater, the answer is never.

One surefire way to kill my food-induced merriment? The masses of post-holiday detox diets that litter the pages of every blog and magazine the second the ball drops on New Year’s Eve. Call me crazy, but come 2012 I’d rather focus my energy on recreating Nana’s famous gingerbread cookies than exploring the secrets of Gwyneth Paltrow’s after New Year’s weight loss program.

So imagine my delight when I fell upon Cara Alwill Leyba’s genius nutrition plan: The Champagne Diet. The main principles of this MTV writer’s nourishment regimen (besides moderately portioned meals) involve splurging on the likes of salmon and goat cheese, and pouring herself a glass or two of champagne every night to celebrate her everyday accomplishments.

Hmm. I think I might be able to handle that…

It may seem a little frivolous, but her philosophy actually trumps the extremist “five-day liquid cleanses” of the world when it comes to lasting results. Denying yourself of little treats like a cup of fro-yo or a glass of red wine every now and then tends to end in overeating anyways, so why not adopt Cara’s way of life and live a little?

In fact, Cara has proved skeptics wrong by steadily losing weight during the course of her newly adopted, dainty little diet. At around 100 calories a glass, her favorite bubbly liquid is one of the healthier beverages out there. The miracle drink also reaches the bloodstream faster than most alternatives, so fewer servings yield the same tipsy result as large quantities of other sips.

So while some of you are embarking on an “I only eat green things” diet to ring in the New Year, I just may be making nightly toasts to celebrate daily triumphs like the killer outfit I wore, great workout I had, or awesome project I finished. Cue the start of a very happy New Year!

Posted by Mary

Leave a Reply

