The Norton Anthology of Single Girl Literature

Have you ever experienced that moment when you stumble upon something so simply brilliant, so glaringly missing from your life heretofore that you think, Why the hell didn’t I think of that?! Well, I found myself in such a situation recently, namely when one of my fave blogs, The Frisky, informed me of Haiku for the Single Girl, a compilation of poems celebrating, what else, life as an unattached femme. The sheer genius of this concept is manifold, but for me it comes down to two things: 1) there is no better way to capture a thought, anecdote, what have you, than in über-concise 5-7-5 structure; and 2) my friends and I often joke about sharing with the masses the hilarious, humiliating and downright insane encounters we’ve had as single women in this city. Here’s a little poetic snack to whet your appetite:

Finance guy. Doctor.
Just another night at the
Liberty Hotel.

I think I’ve found my calling.

Posted by Abby

Leave a Reply

