Fashion Meets Film

Thanks to last week’s Fashion’s Night Out events around the globe, I’ve got clothes on the brain—specifically, clothes from movies. For me, my love affair with film wardrobes started with the envious closet of Alicia Silverstone in Clueless. (See all 50 outfits worn by Alicia in the movie in this 60-second video.) I would pine over the outfits, and to my mother’s horror, I was the only kid in 7th grade rocking thigh-high socks and mini kilts. That won me a lot of friends. Not.

Later in life, I learned to appreciate film fashion rather than mimic it exactly in my own sartorial choices. I can’t think of a single Audrey Hepburn movie without immediately thinking of Givenchy, which makes sense given their decades-long designer/muse relationship that began on the set of Sabrina and resulted in Givenchy designing almost all of her subsequent film wardrobes. And the 1960s cult classic Blow Up is like a time capsule for mod fashion in all of its brightly-colored and unfortunately-patterned glory. Though I’m rocking neither an embroidered satin ball gown à la Audrey in Sabrina nor a stringy beaded mini dress à la Veruschka in Blow Up anytime soon, I can appreciate the fashion nonetheless. Same goes for Diane Keaton’s menswear in Annie Hall and Ali MacGraw’s winter coats in Love Story.

For more practical fashion application, I consider Rene Russo’s wardrobe in The Thomas Crown Affair to be major. Beautiful, timeless and classic, her style is almost exclusively Celine circa the Michael Kors era. Even 12 years later, you could still rock any one of her outfits today and look just as chic. Another classic: Gwyneth Paltrow’s Donna Karan-heavy wardrobe in Great Expectations. I don’t think anyone thought of the color green as a serious fashion option until this movie came out. (How’s that for fashion hyperbole?) And to steal a catchphrase from Rachel Zoe, I die for anything and everything Sienna Miller wears in Alfie, from the fur coats to the men’s button-downs. She just kills it, style-wise, in that movie.

So that’s it from me for favorite fashion films and wardrobes. What are some of yours?

Posted by Amelia

One response to “Fashion Meets Film

  1. I’d like to burn all my work clothes and take the wardrobe from Inception (http://i1182.photobucket.com/albums/x459/inception2213/Inception.jpg).

Leave a Reply

