A Perfect, No-Frills Sangria Recipe for Summer

Last summer, I found myself sick of the vodka/lemonades, muddled concoctions, and salty margs. Even the seasonal brews and plain old wines stopped doing it for me, so, on a mission to find a new bevvy of choice, I read and read and read and read and read and read recipes online. For an hour and a half, I checked out Food NetworkEpicurious, and what seemed like every individual blog available until deciding “F&*k it, I’m making Sangria.”

An old standby, there exists about 50 variations of this thing. After combining a few and subtracting an ingredient or two, I think I’ve landed on one I can likely boast about. So, when entertaining the BBQ crew or relaxing after a long day at work, check out this super simple, yet seriously slurpable sangria:

2 bottles of dry red wine (a shiraz-cab blend recently tickled my fancy)
1 cup brandy
1 cup OJ
¼ cup sugar
2 oranges
2 lemons
2 limes

Mix all of the above together, allowing the sugar to dissolve, and set aside for at least an hour for the fruit to “marinate” and flavors to come together.

Add 1 cup club soda and 1 cup ginger ale, stir, and serve!

Posted by Haley

Leave a Reply

