When Puppets Rap

While drafting this post, it became clear to me that a large portion of my childhood was molded by puppets. Not the kind lonely kids play with when nobody can come over for a play date—the walking, talking, singing and dancing variety found on the majority of 90’s children’s shows.

The Muppets, the Sesame Street gang and the Fraggle Rock crew taught me how to count, spell and share as a tot, and have moved on to match my adult interests with a new pursuit—rap.

Yes, you heard me correctly, puppet raps are popping up left and right these days, and I’m loving every felt-faced, lip-syncing minute of it! Get your fix of puppet rhymes with my picks for the top three puppet raps:

#3: “Let Me Clear My Throat” by DJ Kool, featuring the Fraggles from Fraggle Rock

I’m embarrassed to say I find myself humming the Fraggle Rock theme song on a regular basis. These little multi-colored creatures were some of my favorites as a kid. Their holiday special was beyond heartwarming, and clearly their knack for lip-syncing goes way beyond sing-along songs. These guys were born to bust rhymes.

#2: “Sure Shot” by The Beastie Boys, featuring The Sesame Street crew

Sesame Street taught me a lot about life: If you’re a grouch like Oscar, nobody will like you, mimicking the Cookie Monster leads to obesity, and referring to yourself in third-person like Elmo gets annoying quick. Their rendition of “Sure Shot” by the Beastie Boys (another 90’s great) is almost as awesome as the original.

#1: “Monster” by Kanye West, featuring The Muppets

Just when I thought I couldn’t love Kanye West any more, he tweeted the link to this video, proving to me that not only does he have amazing lyrical talents, but a great sense of humor to boot. Kermit’s got some serious moves, but Miss Piggy’s convincing performance as Nicki Minaj secures this video as number one on my list.

Posted by Mary

One response to “When Puppets Rap

  1. Here’s the complete Sure Shot mashup in HD:

Leave a Reply

