Princess Diana is on Facebook?

My mom is one of those women who cry when a celebrity dies. Two summers ago when the news broke that Michael Jackson died, I got a text from my mom at work: “Casey, he died.” I, like a normal person, immediately thought of my father. Silly me not to know that the King of Pop was the intended “he” in her text. Mom is also one of those women who TiVo’d the Royal Wedding a few months ago, pretending that she was one of the lucky attendees crying in person at Westminster Abbey. So it should come as no surprise that her latest reason to indulge in a hysterical crying fit over something that doesn’t affect her life in the least is Newsweek’s latest cover, “Diana at 50: If She Were Here Now.”

Intrigued by the photoshopped Princess (guess it runs in the genes), I decided to flip through the magazine, stumbling across a mock Princess Diana Facebook profile. While I see how this can be mildly amusing for about five seconds, I can’t help but think, “Really? Way to completely lose my respect Newsweek.” Of course the photo editor did a magnificent job of maintaining Princess Diana’s beauty, but still I couldn’t help but get a bad taste in my mouth.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my celebrity gossip. I am all for the photos that mesh two celebrities together to get a glimpse at their offspring, or even what celebrities will look like when they age past their mid-20’s. But in my book, this is around one hundred steps too far. Maybe America could actually be tasteful for once; Even my celebrity-crazy mother agrees…and that’s saying a lot!

Posted by Casey

Leave a Reply

