Itsy Bitsy Teeny Weeny Solar-Powered Bikini

I’m a serious summer connoisseur. The hot weather and sun jolts me out of the seasonal doldroms of winter/rainy spring, and I feel like a new person. I want to spend every minute of the day outside—on a boat (I can’t help myself), the beach, or body-surfing in the waves.  You’d think I was raised south of the border (nope, just the MA ‘burbs), so when it comes to bathing suits, I thought I’d seen it all…

Not so. Introducing the solar-powered bikini. Weighing no more than your average suit, the bikini is fitted with 40 solar cells and a USB attachment to ensure your iPod, phone, and whatever other gadgets you have remain charged as long as you scorch under the sun. Each suit is custom-ordered and handmade in over 80 hours, costing more than a pretty penny. To be a walking solar panel, you gotta shell out $500-$1500.

Well, it’s certainly not the ugliest thing I’ve ever seen, but I’d much rather risk a dead battery than have to keep my ass planted on the sand (this shit ain’t waterproof!). Guess its target wearer is the sunrise-to-sundown sunbather (are you reading this, Snooki?). One cool thing about the concept…they’re working on a version that keeps a can of beer cold.

Posted by Haley

Leave a Reply

