Sprout Juice 2.0

mary
Image source Eat Spin Run Repeat

I’m not going to beat around the bush here. I have a full on infatuation with Brussels sprouts. Whether roasted, sautéed or chopped to smithereens in a slaw (you’re missing out if you haven’t tried this recipe), Bsprouts are my jam.

So, as I was perusing the latest issues of dining publications with my sights set on holiday sides made from the little green spears (so far The New York TimesHashed Brussels Sprouts are top contenders), I came across my leafy friends in an unlikely place: juice.

According to The Daily Mail, Brussels sprouts are coming in strong as the next big thing to hit the juicing market. Rich in vitamins C and K, and sulforaphane, the yuletide stapes fight off infection, lower cholesterol and reduce the risk of cancer. Juice fans can combine the sprouts’ liquid with kale or spinach, or gulp it down wheatgrass-style as a shot. For us less adventurous folk who actually want our sprouts to taste good, Brussels can be combined with fruit juices to cut their grassy flavor.

For now, the green concoction is available for Juice Club members at UK luxury store, Fortnum & Mason, but I expect Bsprouts to press their way (pun intended) into Boston’s green juice scene before we know it. Catch my drift, Juice Back Bay?

Posted by Mary

Leave a Reply

