Mantyhose: A Small Step for Man, An Insulting Step for Womankind

Image source Emilio Cavallini

Man and woman were created equal, but man and woman do not necessarily share equal strengths, interests, or even rights (of passage). This is not a bad thing, it just is.

That being said, there are a few things that should not be created equal for men and women. I’m referring to products like unisex perfumes/colognes (nice try, Khloe and Lamar) and now pantyhose.

Sure, male ballerinas, the men that live in Sherwood Forest, and cross dressers are all in need of nylons to protect their gams, but launching an entire high-end line of unisex tights is disconcerting. Alas, known designer Emilio Cavallini reports that between 2-3% of his annual hosiery sales come from dudes. Most women don’t enjoy wearing tights, why would men?

Apparently, because they’re cold. Seriously? Grow some balls…which brings me to my next point.

The most uncomfortable part about ‘hose (for me, at least) is the…er…groin area. I have athletic legs, ok? So to accommodate our mantyhose wearing men, Cavallini’s unisex line will allow for “greater breathability” in the area where men and women were not created equal (visually, that is). Really…it took a few confused men interested in tights to urge a designer to make them more comfortable?? That’s just wrong.

While this is a nice advancement for my fellow ‘hose wearin’ hos, it’s also insulting that it took a man’s voice to improve a product whose market is approximately 98% female. I have spent the last two winter seasons wearing uncomfortable colored tights because it was the “fashionable” thing to do, and you didn’t hear me complaining about my discomfort or how I wished my tights “breathed more” because they made me “sweat.”

Men, if you’re going to wear tights, man up like the rest of us. And if you’re going to spend $27.00 on a pair of tights, you BEST not be hiding them under your work pants.

Posted by Hannah

Leave a comment